Minutes of the Board of Education Meeting held February 15, 2023.

Members Present: S. Powers, R. Strittmatter, E. Trudeau, J. Bell, S. Staffan, L. Jackson and S. Rogala.

Members absent: none

Also Present: Superintendent Curth, Principal Valot, and K. Strittmatter

Meeting called to order by President Powers at 6:30 p.m.

Motion by L. Jackson, Support by R. Strittmatter to accept the minutes of the previous meeting. Carried.

Finance Report: MILAF's interest continues to do well.

Secretary's Report: Secretary Staffan read a letter of retirement from Diane Klose. R. Strittmatter motion to accept her retirement, S. Powers support. Carried.

Public Participation: Jim Tamlyn notified the board that he was unjustly cut off during the public participation at the meeting. He also spoke on transgender issues.

Motion by L. Jackson, support by E. Trudeau to approve the bills in the amount of \$26,444.25. Carried.

Teacher's Rep Report: Natalie Postula reported that yesterday was the 100th day of school, elementary celebrated the 101st day of school today with a 101 Dalmatians theme. The fifth grade celebrated their 1000th day of school since starting Kindergarten. It's spirit week, so that's been lots of fun with all of those activities. AP Computer science has received the female diversity award.

Principal's Report: Mrs. Valot reported that the December students of the monthe were Julia Sullivan, Julia Short, and Kylie Hall. 46 students in grades 6-12 made the honor roll in Q2 and 44 students made the honor roll for the semester. Tomorrow evening is the Hall of Fame dinner and induction honoring Joshua Bootz and Rachel Wallin Grooters. Homecoming is on Friday.

Old Business: none

New Business:

(a) 98B: The board looked over and discussed the 98B academic progress report.

Public Participation: none

Superintendent's Report: We ordered brown windows, but white ones came in, however, Paul and Sam think that white will look fine, maybe better. We will stay with the white otherwise it could delay the project up to a year. Jeffrey Siebigteroth is Mackinaw City's first National Merit Scholarship finalist. Greg Torsky, a former board president, will be donating to the food service fund to help pay for students outstanding lunch balances.

Board Comments: J. Bell – none, L. Jackson – none, S. Powers – none, R. Strittmatter-"Thanks to Diane for her service, she'll be missed and thanks to the principal and teacher rep reports, it's nice to know what's going on", S. Staffan – none, S. Rogala – none, E. Trudeau- none

Motion by R. Strittmatter, support by S. Powers to adjourn at 6:48. Carried.